Oh Doctor, Doctor, Is this Love I’m Feeling?

I admit, my first experience with the original Dr Who did not involve actually viewing the show.

Growing up in the 1970s, I remember that my dad had a Dr Who game that always remained a mystery to me. I never saw my dad play the game and I never worked out how to play it myself. I didn’t watch the show; I recall that it had something to do with a phone booth (phone booth, police box, whatever); the production values were pretty low by American standards (in kidspeak this thought was more like, “this looks crappy”), and I was somewhat aware that the doctor kept changing which didn’t make any sense to me at all.

Couple these facts (or near facts) with the fact that I had a childish, unexamined bias against all things English (if you don’t believe me, ask my 8 year old self about the Beatles) and this show clearly wasn’t for me.

Fast forward to a few weeks ago, when, at the urging of a friend & after watching a few episodes of season two during a Virgin Atlantic flight, I decided to give the new Dr Who a try.

Maybe it’s just the summer slump that has left me with lower expectations, but I found the show oddly endearing. I can’t precisely put my finger on why; there is a painfully high cheese factor at work here; the special effects are a lot more Xena: Warrior Princess than Battlestar Galactica; and the stories are definitely a mixed bag. And yet . . . I ended up watching the entire first season over the course of two weeks. I think that the key to show is Rose/Billie Piper & the Doctor/Christoper Eccleston (aka the invisible guy on Heroes)…which makes the willingness to change up the main characters so difficult to understand. I haven’t started season two yet, but I know that it’s just a matter of time (in this case, finding the spare time).

Oh, so anyway, I’m Megan & I’m pleased to be writing here on Get Reel. To say I have a complicated relationship with television is to overstate the case, so let me say only that at the start of each fall season I declare that I will not watch any new shows and each fall season I am thwarted in that attempt. The truth is that some are just really good, no two ways about it. And others, well, others just get under my skin & I feel just a bit embarrassed about watching them (I’m looking at you, Rescue Me).

At the end of the day, the truth is that I don’t want to start watching new shows because I know how hard it is for me to stop. Like any addiction. It can happen though — the X-Files and Gilmore Girls both made watching so painful at the end that I had to look away, like when you’ve fallen out of love with someone but can’t admit it to yourself until you see them drunk & puking in your parents’ basement and you know that it’s over and you wish you had broken it off a month earlier so this image would not always be the first thing you think of when you hear their name — and it almost happened with Lost last season but they turned it around (by which I mean I remembered that Jack wasn’t the only person on that damned plane).

0 Responses to “Oh Doctor, Doctor, Is this Love I’m Feeling?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

